Leaders name GMC Health Care Board Nominating Committee & Director of Health Care Reform

by Angela Chagnon  

Governor Shumlin appointed Robin Lunge, an attorney with the Department of Banking, Insurance Securities and Health Care (BISHCA), as the Director of Health Care Reform. Lunge previously served as Shumlin’s health care advisor.

The press release from the Governor’s office regarding the appointment reads:

“In the position, which begins on July 1, Lunge will oversee and coordinate health care reform efforts across all of state government. In addition, she will serve as liaison to the newly created Green Mountain Health Care Board.”

The Shumlin administration also announced the appointees to the Green Mountain Care Health Care Board nominating committee. According to H.202, these members are chosen by Governor Shumlin, House Speaker Shap Smith, and Senate President Pro Tem John Campbell.

The qualifications for nominees to the GMC Board, as outlined in H.202, are as follows:


The Green Mountain Care board nominating committee shall assess candidates using the following criteria:

(1) commitment to the principles expressed in section 9371 of this title.

(2) knowledge of or expertise in health care policy, health care delivery, or health care financing, and openness to alternative approaches to health care.

(3) possession of desirable personal characteristics, including integrity, impartiality, health, empathy, experience, diligence, neutrality, administrative and communication skills, social consciousness, public service, and regard for the public good.

(4) knowledge, expertise, and characteristics that complement those of the remaining members of the board.

(5) impartiality and the ability to remain free from undue influence by a personal, business, or professional relationship with any person subject to supervision or regulation by the board.

The job of the 9-member committee is to vet candidates to serve on the 5-member Green Mountain Health Care Board, which will be responsible for creating rules and regulations to govern Vermont’s new health system.

Governor Shumlin’s appointees are:

· Elizabeth Bankowski, a previous Senior Director and member of the Board of Directors of Ben & Jerry’s; Chief of Staff to former Governor Madeline Kunin; and chair of Governor Shumlin’s transition team

· Dr. Deborah Richter, single payer lobbyist and primary support behind H.202

· Thomas Torti, president of the Lake Champlain Regional Chamber of Commerce. Torti also served as Commissioner of Personnel and Commissioner of Buildings and General Services in a previous gubernatorial administration.

Speaker Smith’s appointees are:

· Kevin Kelley, Chief Executive Officer of Community Health Services of Lamoille Valley.

· Rep. Mark Larson (D-Burlington), Chair of the House Committee on Health Care and sponsor of H.202

· Rep. Vicki Strong (R-Albany), a member of the House Committee on Health Care.

Sen. Campbell’s appointees are:

· Dr. Louis Kazal, Jr., a resident of Hanover, New Hampshire; serves as Associate Professor, Department of Community and Family Medicine, at Dartmouth Medical School in Hanover

· Sen. Claire Ayer of Addison County, Chair of the Senate Health and Welfare.

· Sen. Kevin Mullin (R-Rutland), Assistant Minority Leader in the Senate and Vice-Chairman of the Senate Health and Welfare Committee.